Pop Tarts & Butter

Welcome back, fancies.

Earlier this week I mentioned that I’m working on a super exciting food prep post, which is not quite ready for publication, but don’t worry it will be well worth the wait!
 
In the meantime, let’s discuss #cleaneating. Transitioning into #cleaneating is a challenge that many struggle with, and I can relate. I did not grow up eating organic produce and grass fed beef. In fact, I was shocked to learn that not everyone’s parents gave them Pop Tarts with melted butter for breakfast. 
 
The last two years have been a journey of diet reform my family and I. The idea of fueling our bodies with food that is nourishing, satisfying and doesn’t break the bank is a challenge I’m not sure anyone ever conquers. I’d love to stand corrected, so please let me know if anyone has been successful in this! 
 
Mr. Ashlee often reminds me of the first dinner I ever cooked for us when we moved in together. What did I serve you ask? A very fancy version of Tyson chicken over oodles of noodles on hand me down plates from my great grand mother. I’m happy to report that we (okay, I) have come a long way since then!
 
Getting rid of processed, convenience foods is the first step to #cleaneating. Start with just one meal a day and work your way up from there. Here are some examples of a few things that we have swapped at breakfast time that save time, money and anyone can implement!
 
 
Cold cereal –> hot cereal. A box of cold cereal costs about $3  for five breakfasts for Mr. Ashlee. A canister of old fashion oats is $2.50 and give us 30 meals! (Plus the cost of any added fruit)
 
Granola bars — > homemade energy balls. $7.99 for a box of sugary, processed granola bars. A weeks worth (about 20) of homemade energy balls using peanut butter, organic honey and dairy free chocolate chips is about $3. 
 
Coffee shop –> coffee at home. I was actually very against this at first. There is no way anything was ever going to satisfy my daily Starbucks needed. Ever. Then I actually bought whole fat creamer, sprinkled a little cinnamon into the mug and viola! It wasn’t love- more like an intense crush. However, the amount of time and aggravation from interacting with the public this saves me every morning makes it worthwhile. An added benefit is never having to risk pulling out of the coffee shop parking lot only to realize the coffee is burnt/cold/made incorrectly. 
 I’d love to know what works for you and any other tips you have on #cleaneating! I would also like to know what kind of ridiculously unhealthy food habits anyone else had growing up just for giggles 
 
Have a great weekend readers, I can’t wait to hear about your ideas and also share some of my own exciting news in the next few weeks with all of you, xoxo. 
One thought on “Pop Tarts & Butter

  1. ah yes, pop tarts with butter. Is there anything more nostalgic? Ha! How about Pete had never heard of a fluffernutter?! I was in shock. Complete and utter shock.

    Like

Leave a Reply

