NYC Getaway! 

I hope everyone had a great Mother’s Day, whether you are a mom yourself or got to appreciate your mom/mother figure in your life. Sadly I didn’t get to see my mom on the actual day, but that’s OK because… we’re off to NYC on Thursday, just the two of us!

I’m always planning a vacation, usually before the next one is even over! Ireland, Hawaii and California (San Fran/wine country) are next on our list. Mr. Ashlee wants to plan our west coast trip for a YEAR from now… he’s so funny. Am I the only one that does this??

I’m also pretty good about coming up with excuses to go on vacations… And my parents are usually equally as happy to send my mom and I on a few long weekend trips a year.

We visited NYC in the fall 2013, my third visit and her first. We had a great time! Now we are going back for a three night getaway and so excited.

Vacations are so necessary for to reset, it is one area that I refuse to trim from the budget. Currently we have a separate savings account that we put a set amount of money in each week that is strictly to pay for grad school, but we already know that come 2017, this will soon be renamed to ‘vacation fund!’.

Some fun things we have planned are the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Matilda: The Musical, a six hour walking tour of Manhattan and Ellis Island/Statue of Liberty. We are also hoping to check out Candle 79, an upscale vegan restaurant about a half mile from the MET.

Any NYC suggestions?

What are some items that you splurge on that are not negotiable?

Leave a Reply

