New York City: Recap 

I apologize  for the long pause between posts lately fancies! 

The good news is that I will be posting regularly on Tuesdays and Thursdays from now on and have some pretty exciting content coming up including how to get through  wedding/graduation season without going bankrupt, pet frugality and even an allergy free holiday meal for 10 that costs less than $120, to name a few. 

Now onto an unrelated recap of my NYC getaway. For the record, if this never gets published and someone finds it on the side of the road in Stanford somewhere, I was on an Amtrak while writing 🙏

Leaving South Station at 6am my eyes were barely peeled opened but somehow I made through the four hour train with just about a 10 minute nap. 

Lucky for us, we were able to check into our room at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square at 10:30 and were on our way to the Metropolitan Museum of Art by 11. 

🚩Here’s a fun fact about the MET:  the ticket prices listed are recommendations. You actually don’t have to pay anything if you don’t want to or you can pay what you what.

After getting our tickets (we paid, incase you are wondering)  we looked around the Egytian exhibit on the first floor for a little while but we were starving and had plans to eat at an upscale vegan restaurant on East 79th, which opened at noon.

Candle 79 I can’t remeber how I came across this restaurant, pretty sure it was how I make most major life decisions: via Google. We arrived a few minutes before they opened and there was a line of about ten people outside, although we had no trouble getting a table I would definitely recommend reservations if this is a must do for you! There are no animal products at all here, which was nice for my mothers dairy allergy. We each ordered the market plate and got polenta fries, miso grilled tofu, chipotle tempah and cornmeal crusted zucchini. DELICIOUS!  

 
Now that our bellies were full we went back to the MET for a few more hours.

🚩Behind the ticket counter at the MET there is a list of guided tour times that are included in your donation. We chose the “American Rooms” tour which was great and had about ten other people attending. The tour lasted about an hour.

Later that evening we had tickets to see Matilda the Musical at Shubert Theatre. It was a great show and the theatre was beautiful! 🚩I snagged us discounted tickets for $59 each for mezzanine seats via telecharge.com.

Dinner was a bianco pizette for me and an order of French fries for my mom at Pigalle. 

Our second day in the city started with breakfast also at Pigalle since this was the restaurant in our hotel and very convenient. A buffet with waffles, French toast, steel cut oats and fresh fruit was perfect! 

  
Next we met our tour guide, Brooklyn Jim, via Free Tours By Foot at the federal building on Wall Street along with about 15 others. The All In One Downtown Tour was a six hour walking tour all through Manhattan. Best part was stopping for lobster ravioli and a cannoli in Litlte Italy! I wish I would have know this is where we would stop to eat so I could have researched places to eat in LI.

🚩The  Free Tours By Foot are “pay what you wish” and are in many major US cities! It was a complete  chance we took as I never used them before, but  would definitely recommend them! In fact I’m tempted to even take one in Boston next time Mr A  and I find ourselves with a spare Saturday. 

 After our tour we stopped for an iced coffee at Sarabeth’s in Chelsea Market and then made  our way back to hotel via the Chelsea High Line… Definitely check it out if you haven’t!
Our last day in the city we had tickets for Ellis Island as my mom had never been. Breakfast was at Cafe Un Deux Treis, which was bleh Dry oatmeal, weird eggs benedict. We both really wanted to do the hard hat tour at EI but it wasn’t  offered on the days were visiting. #sadface. We opted for a free 30 min park ranger guided tour just to get some background info- nothing special. 

After EI we headed towards Herald Square and settled on Stella 34 Trattoria for a late lunch. I had a weird, random, single anchovi on top of my Caesar salad with chicken that kind of ruined by appetite. The chocolate and peanut butter gelato with candied peanuts and toasted marshmallow  made up for it though. And the prosecco. Mother enjoyed her BLT and lemon sorbet. Honestly I thought $75 was a little much for a so so lunch. There was chocolate smeared across the window sill…?

Still a nice view of Heralds square below:  


My dessert was as delicious as it looks: 

  
After walking all morning and unsuccessful trips to Macy’s, H&M, Forever 21 (this deserves a post of its own, really), JC Penney, Express, Loft and Gap it was time for a quick rest in the hotel. 

To continue with the theme of mediocre food we headed to dinner at The Glass Tavern where we had a great lunch a few years ago. My roasted chicken was okay at best and the bread pudding for dessert was… I’m not sure  it was even bread. My mom got the vegetarian quinoa paella which was just dry. 

Now it’s back to reality! I hope everyone had a great weekend as well

Xoxo A

Leave a Reply

